Problem using Insight debugger

OP #1172053
Rate this post
• ▲ useful
▼ not useful
I am brand new to ARM development (but not to embedded programming). I
have installed the WinARM tools on my Windows XP machine. I have an OKI
AME-51 evaluation kit, which has an evaluation board with an OKI
ML67Q4051 processor, and a J-Link USB/JTAG interface box. I have
successfully compiled and linked a small project using WinARM with
Programmers Notebook. Output when doing a Make All is as follows:

> "make.exe" all
arm-elf-gcc -x assembler-with-cpp -c -mcpu=arm7tdmi -g -gdwarf-2
-Wa,-amhls=crt.lst   crt.s -o crt.o
arm-elf-gcc -c -mcpu=arm7tdmi -O0 -gdwarf-2 -mthumb-interwork
-fomit-frame-pointer -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -fverbose-asm
-Wa,-ahlms=main.lst   -MD -MP -MF .dep/main.o.d -I .
-IC:\WinARM\arm-elf\include main.c -o main.o
arm-elf-gcc -c -mcpu=arm7tdmi -O0 -gdwarf-2 -mthumb-interwork
-fomit-frame-pointer -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -fverbose-asm
-Wa,-ahlms=kernel.lst   -MD -MP -MF .dep/kernel.o.d -I .
-IC:\WinARM\arm-elf\include kernel.c -o kernel.o
arm-elf-gcc crt.o main.o kernel.o -mcpu=arm7tdmi -nostartfiles
-Tlinkram.ld -Wl,-Map=TestWinarm.map,--cref,--no-warn-mismatch
-LC:\WinARM\arm-elf\lib   -o TestWinarm.elf
arm-elf-objcopy -O ihex  TestWinarm.elf TestWinarm.hex

> Process Exit Code: 0
> Time Taken: 00:01

My problem is in trying to use Insight to download this code into RAM
for debugging. I do the following:

I launch JLinkGDBServer.exe. I launch arm-elf-insight.exe. In
File->Target Settings I set Target to GDBserver/TCP and Port to 2331. I
check Set breakpoint at main and at exit, and check Display Download
Dialog. I use File->Open to open  TestWinarm.elf. Source code for main.c
is displayed. I select Run->Connect to target. I see a Successfully
connected dialog box. I select Run->Download. I do not see a download
dialog box, but I see the following error message in the status bar at
the bottom of Insight:

DOWNLOAD FAILED. Invalid download offset: and.

Help! What am I doing wrong? Will Insight work with the IAR/Segger
J-Link USB/JTAG interface? I have the option switches on my evaluation
board set to map the external RAM (1 MBytes) starting at address 0. I
have tried pressing (or not pressing) the processor hardware reset
pushbutton on the board before downloading. I cannot seem to get my file
loaded into RAM. It works when I use the IAR software tools that came
with my evaluation board, but I really don't want to have to spend lots
of $$$ for the full software tools for my rather large project. Insight
seems to be communicating with the JLinkGDBServer. I can use
View->Memory to view and modify memory starting at 0. But I can't seem
to download my program for debugging. What am I doing wrong?

Reply

Note: the original post is older than 6 months. Please don't ask any new questions in this thread, but start a new one.

Formatting
  • [c]C-Code[/c]
  • [code]code in other languages, ASCII drawings[/code]
  • [math]formula (LaTeX syntax)[/math]
  • [[Title]] – link to an article
  • Link to another post: right-click its post ID (#8078628), copy the address, paste it into the text

More about formatting

Post long source code as an attachment, not in the text.

Already registered? Log in

Not shown to anyone. We send you a link; your post appears once you confirm it there.

By submitting you create a free account and accept the terms of use.